Foster Care and Adoption

Take the next step to making a difference in the lives of Arizona’s foster children

 

With nearly 18,000 children removed from their birth families and placed in the care of the Arizona Department of Child Safety, there is a tremendous need for foster and adoptive homes.

 

Southwest Human Development’s Foster Care and Adoption program assists families seeking to provide homes for children who have been removed from their parents due to abuse or neglect. Services include training, kinship home studies, foster care licensing, adoption certification, annual guardianship reports, and placement supervision and support.

 

Attend an Orientation

Orientations providing information regarding foster care and adoption occur at the Southwest Human Development office on the third Monday of every month (excluding holidays). Attendees have the opportunity to meet a member of the Foster Care and Adoption team and receive answers to their questions from our friendly and knowledgeable staff. Contact Sabrina Paulukovich at (602) 633-8482 or spaulukovich@swhd.org to register for an orientation.

 

Individuals or couples who cannot attend an orientation at Southwest Human Development may attend one of the many orientations held throughout Maricopa County each month. To find one near you, please click here.

 

Eligibility

A foster parent must be:

    • 21 years of age or older
    • A legal resident of the United States and an Arizona resident
    • Able to pass a criminal history records check
    • Able to pass a DCS records check
    • Willing to abide by Office of Licensing, DCS and Southwest Human Development rules and regulations
    • Able to participate in pre-service training
    • Able to ensure their home meets life-safety inspection requirements
    • Able to embrace the concept of “shared parenting”

 

A foster parent can:

    • Be single, married, divorced or widowed
    • Rent or own their home
    • Be a stay-at-home parent or a working parent
    • Own pets that display non-aggressive or non-threatening behaviors
    • Own firearms
    • Have a pool that meets fencing requirements

 

Training

Southwest Human Development is proud to offer training to prospective and current foster and adoptive parents throughout Maricopa County at no cost to participants.

 

Partnering for Safety and Permanence – Model Approach to Partnerships in Parenting (PS-MAPP)
PS-MAPP is the required pre-service training for prospective parents who wish to be foster care licensed or certified to adopt children in the care of the Arizona Department of Child Safety. The goal of the course is to prepare prospective foster/adoptive parents to work with children who have been abused and neglected and to help prospective families decide whether foster parenting is right for them. The training is divided into 10 three-hour sessions. The sessions are offered on a weekly basis for 10 weeks or on an expedited scheduled for six weeks. A minimum of 10 participants is required at each training.

 

PS-MAPP Training Schedule*
To register for a PS-MAPP class, please contact Sabrina Paulukovich at (602) 633-8482 or spaulukovich@swhd.org.

July – September 2017 | 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.

Meeting 1:   Wednesday, July 12
Meeting 2:   Wednesday, July 19
Meeting 3:   Wednesday, July 26
Meeting 4:   Wednesday, Aug. 2

Meeting 5:   Wednesday, Aug. 9
Meeting 6:   Wednesday, Aug. 16
Meeting 7:   Wednesday, Aug. 23
Meeting 8:   Wednesday, Aug. 30

Meeting 9:   Wednesday, Sept. 6
Meeting 10:   Wednesday, Sept. 13
RPPS:   Wednesday, Sept. 30

August – November 2017 | 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.

Meeting 1:   Tuesday, Aug. 29
Meeting 2:   Tuesday, Sept. 5
Meeting 3:   Tuesday, Sept. 12
Meeting 4:   Tuesday, Sept. 19

Meeting 5:   Tuesday, Sept. 26
Meeting 6:   Tuesday, Oct. 3
Meeting 7:   Tuesday, Oct. 10
Meeting 8:   Tuesday, Oct. 17

Meeting 9:   Tuesday, Oct. 24
Meeting 10:   Tuesday, Nov. 7
RPPS:   Tuesday, Nov. 14

October 2017 – January 2018 | 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.

Meeting 1:   Wednesday, Oct. 18
Meeting 2:   Wednesday, Oct. 25
Meeting 3:   Wednesday, Nov. 1
Meeting 4:   Wednesday, Nov. 8

Meeting 5:   Wednesday, Nov. 15
Meeting 6:   Wednesday, Nov. 29
Meeting 7:   Wednesday, Dec. 6
Meeting 8:   Wednesday, Dec. 13

Meeting 9:   Wednesday, Dec. 20
Meeting 10:   Wednesday, Jan. 3
RPPS:   Wednesday, Jan. 10

* Schedule subject to change

Caring for a Medically-Complex Child
Licensed foster parents who are interested in caring for children with complex medical needs can participate in an 18 hour training titled Caring for the Medically Complex Child (CMCC). This training will provide foster parents with a basic understanding of what qualifies a child as Medically Complex eligible and an overview of the care conditions and supports to adequately meet the needs of the child and to support the caregiver in their role.

 

CMCC Training Schedule
To be announced.

 

Deciding Together
Deciding Together is offered to prospective foster parents who are unable to attend the preferred pre-service training, PS-MAPP. Like PS-MAPP, this program helps families make an informed decision about becoming a foster, adoptive or kinship home, while preparing participants for these roles. This training is offered on an as-needed basis and must be arranged with the family support specialist completing the home study.

 

For more information about Foster Care and Adoption, please contact Sabrina Paulukovich at (602) 633-8482 or spaulukovich@swhd.org.

Helping Arizona Children & Famillies

With your support we can do even more